Banner & Witcoff Announces Winners of the Donald W. Banner Diversity Scholarship.

April 8, 2008

(Chicago – April 8, 2008) – Banner & Witcoff, Ltd., one of the largest law firms in the United States dedicated solely to the practice of intellectual property law, announced LaTasha Mabry and Megon Walker as the recipients of the Donald W. Banner Diversity Scholarship for law students.

The scholarship program will provide Ms. Mabry and Ms. Walker with $5,000 payable for their upcoming Fall semester of law school. Ms. Mabry earned a B.S. in electrical engineering from Iowa State University and is currently enrolled at the University of Houston Law Center. Ms. Walker earned a B.S from Rochester Institute of Technology in biotechnology and a Ph.D. in Bioinformatics from Boston University and is currently enrolled at Harvard Law School. The scholarship is open to all law students who are members of a minority group (including any group traditionally under-represented in the field of intellectual property law) and who meet the following criteria:

  • Current enrollment in an ABA-accredited law school in the United States;
  • Commitment to the pursuit of a career in intellectual property law;
  • Strong communication and writing skills; and,
  • Demonstrated leadership qualities and community involvement.


β€œThe firm is pleased to award the scholarship to such exceptional individuals. Their dedication tothe field of intellectual property law and outstanding academic track record made LaTasha and Megon clear choices among an extremely talented pool of applicants.”- Thomas K. Pratt, President of Banner & Witcoff, Ltd.


About Donald W. Banner

Donald W. Banner, a former U.S. Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks was a leader in the field of patent law. He was Chair of the American Bar Association Section of Intellectual Property Law, President of the American Intellectual Property Law Association, a founding member of the Association of Corporate Patent Counsel, President of the International Patent and Trademark Association, Co-founder and President of the Intellectual Property Owners Association, and Director of the John Marshall Law School Center for Intellectual Property Law. He was also a United States delegate to numerous international diplomatic conferences. Because of his many accomplishments and the respect he garnered in the field of intellectual property, Mr. Banner was appointed to be U.S. Commissioner of Patentsand Trademarks by both Presidents Nixon and Carter, the only person to be so appointed by presidents of both political parties. He served in that office only during the Carter Administration.

Please direct all media inquires to Colleen Strasser at or 312.463.5465

Posted: April 8, 2008

Contact Banner Witcoff Share on LinkedIn View this page as a pdf Share on Twitter Email this page Print this page